Common Yahoo! Search Marketing and Enterprise Web Services terms.
| Term | Definition | Account | A business or department that controls a marketing budget. Small companies might use a single account to manage campaigns; larger companies might require several accounts to represent different divisions. |
|---|---|
| Account Daily Spending Limit | The maximum amount you want to spend each day within an account. You may be charged up to 10% above your daily spending limit. Charges exceeding 10% of the account daily spending limit may be eligible for a refund. |
| Account Status | Indicator of your account's status for displaying ads. If the account status is "Off," your ads should not be displayed. |
| Ad | The marketing message about your products or services. An ad contains a title, description, and URL. |
| Ad Group | A set of ads and related keywords defined for a specific campaign. Ads are displayed when related keywords are entered during a search. |
| Ad Status | Indicator of your ad's display status. If the ad status is "Off," your ad is not displayed. |
| Average CPC | Average cost per click. The average price you paid each time your ad was clicked. |
| Average Position | The average position of your ad relative to other ads within the sponsored search results. |
| Campaign | A group of marketing activities related to a marketing goal. A campaign can contain one or more ad groups that share a budget, schedule, and geo-targeting criteria. For example, a Product Introduction could include emails, paid search, and banner ads. |
| Campaign Monthly Budget | The amount of money you want to spend each month (a rolling 30-day period) for a specific campaign. You may be charged up to 10% above your campaign monthly budget. Charges exceeding 10% of the campaign monthly budget might be eligible for a refund. |
| Clicks | The action that occurs when an ad is selected. |
| Content Match Bid (CM Bid) | Bid that applies to all ads distributed via Content Match®. |
| Conversion Tag | A script in the source code of a page that records a completed transaction. Typically, a conversion tag is placed on a Thank You or Confirmation page. The conversion tag can include the amount of the transaction. |
| Conversions | The completion of an action that you value, such as a purchase, registration, or sign-up. |
| CPA | Cost per acquisition. The cost of acquiring a conversion. The CPA is calculated as the total cost of online marketing activities divided by the number of conversions. |
| CPC | Cost per click. The cost of advertising divided by the number of clicks. |
| CPM | Cost per thousand impressions. The value you assign to a customer seeing your ad. |
| CTR | Click-through rate. The number of clicks received divided by the number of impressions generated. Example: An ad that is displayed 100 times and receives 25 clicks has a click-through rate of 0.25. |
| Current Balance | The amount of funds in an account. |
| Description | In an ad, the concise summary of the products or services you wish to advertise. For best results, an ad’s description should correspond to its related keywords. |
| Destination URL | In an ad, the URL of the web page that is displayed when an ad is clicked. |
| Display Rate (%) | The number of times an ad was displayed relative to the other ads in the ad group. Example: If four ads in an ad group are rotated equally, each ad has a display rate of 25%.. |
| Display URL | In an ad, the URL displayed. If the destination URL is long, you can include a shorter display URL. Example: An ad with destination URL www.example.com/s_id=0&bc=1005 could have a display URL of www.example.com. |
| Editorial Status | The status of a keyword or ad in the editorial review process. |
| Estimated Account Depletion | The estimated number of days remaining before the account balance reaches zero. |
| Estimated Clicks | The estimated number of clicks you might receive. |
| Estimated Monthly Impressions | The estimated number of impressions you might receive in a month. |
| Event Tags | A script in the source code of a page that you use to track visitor behavior that is important to your business. |
| Excluded Word | A word or phrase that is used to filter out unwanted queries when the Sponsored Search advanced match type has been enabled. |
| Geo-Targeting | The display of ads in a specific geographic location or to users who express interest in that area. Example: A business that sells New York real estate selects New York as a targeted area. Ads will be displayed to customers located in New York and to anyone who searches for New York real estate or related terms. |
| Impressions | The number of times an ad is displayed, whether it is clicked on or not. For example, a Sponsored Search ad that is displayed four times has four impressions. |
| Keyword | Word or phrase that relates to the products or services you wish to advertise. When prospective customers look for information related to your keywords, your ads may be displayed. |
| Keyword Bid | A bid for a specific keyword that overrides the ad group bid. |
| Keyword Research Tool | A tool for creating a keyword list and viewing the historical popularity of keywords. |
| Locale | The preferred language used for messaging (such as report headers and editorial reason text). In general, locales for a given market are restricted to the language or languages spoken in that market and English. |
| Long Description | In an ad, a detailed summary of the products or services you wish to advertise. It is displayed on partner sites that can accommodate longer descriptions. For best results, the long description should correspond to its related keywords. |
| Market | The country or multi-country region in which you are advertising. |
| Marketing Activity | Any part of a campaign for which you want to track cost information. Examples include sponsored search ads, banner ads, and email drop. |
| Master Account | An account that groups together individual accounts. Master Accounts might represent divisions within a company, whereas an account represents groups within that division. |
| Match Type (Standard, Advanced) | For Sponsored Search, provides control over the exposure that an ad receives by specifying the method used to match a searcher's keyword to an ad:
Standard - displays your ads for exact matches to your keywords, as well as for singular or plural variations, common misspellings, and topics that are relevant to your keywords, titles and descriptions. Advanced - displays ads for a broader range of searches relevant to your keywords, titles, descriptions, and web content. |
| Maximum Bid | The maximum price you are willing to pay when your ad is clicked. You will never be charged more than your maximum bid. The actual cost per click can be lower than your maximum bid because your cost per click is automatically discounted to the lowest amount necessary to maintain your position on the page. |
| Payment Method | The method for funding your account, such as credit card, check, and wire transfer. |
| Prospect Tag | A script in the source code of a page that appears just prior to the completion of a conversion. A prospect tag can be used to identify any drop-off between the conversion step and the pre-conversion step. Example: If customers must review their purchase before completing the transaction, place a prospect tag on the review page to collect data and better understand drop-off behavior. |
| Quality Index (Quality Score) | A relative measure of your ad's performance. The quality index takes into account the click-through rate and other relevancy factors. |
| Revenue | The amount of money that a marketing activity has generated for your business. |
| ROAS | Return on Ad Spend. The amount of revenue you generated per dollar spent on a specific advertising method. ROAS is calculated as Revenue ÷ Cost of Advertising x 100. Example: A campaign that generated $5,000 in revenue and cost $500 has a ROAS of 1000%. |
| Roles | The type of access a user has within an account. |
| Search Query | A search request that a user enters into the Search box on Yahoo! or one of our distribution partners. |
| Short Description | The short description is a concise summary of what your business offers. It should relate closely to the keywords and/or other targeting criteria for which it will be displayed. |
| Sponsored Search Bid (SS Bid) |
The maximum bid for Sponsored Search clicks. |
| Tactic (Distribution Tactic) | An option that determines how your ads are distributed. Sponsored Search is a distribution tactic that displays your ads to search users that enter search queries related to your keywords. Content Match® is a distribution tactic that displays your ads on content pages with articles, reviews, news or other information relevant to your titles and descriptions. |
| Tagging Options (Conversion Only, Full Analytics) | The method used for receiving analytics data. Analytics data can be received using Conversion Only or Full Analytics:
Conversion Only - use one tag to track conversions on your site generated from your Sponsored Search and Content Match listings. Full Analytics - use multiple tags to track a full range of activity across your site. |
| Targeted Region | The geographic locations selected for geo-targeting. |
| Title | In an ad, the headline. For best results, a title should include the keywords associated with the ad. To attract the attention of potential customers, the title should be short and compelling. |
| Tracking URL | A URL appended with parameters that provides information about the distribution tactic, keyword, and raw search query used. |